A Stupid Transformation

23 Mar

Lift your apple, she said.
I lifted my apple.
Lift your orange, she said.
I lifted my orange. Both of my fruits were up.
Put down your apple, she said.
I put it down.
Put down your orange, she said.
I did.
Lift your apple, she said.
I obeyed.
Put down your apple.
I did.
Lift your orange.
I lifted it.
Put down your orange.
I did.
Silence. I stood there, both fruits down, waiting for her next command. After a while I got impatient and said, what next.
Now it’s your turn to give the orders, she said.
All right, I said. Tell me to lift my rambutan.

Leave a Reply

