My First Flash

16 Mar

I believe this was the first “flash fiction” piece I ever wrote, back in 1974, at age 18, while in college.

The Twist

It was about a quarter after five and Jack Dolan entered the bar for his usual after-work drink. He took his usual place at the bar and the bartender came over and asked, “The usual, Mr. Dolan?”

“Yes, Mike. And remember–a twist of lemon.”

“Mr. Dolan, may I speak frankly?”

Jack nodded his head.

“You’ve been coming to this bar every day after work, barring unforeseen circumstances, at approximately 5:15 PM, for the past six years, and every time you order a martini you have to remind me that you want it with a twist of lemon. Now honestly, Mr. Dolan, do you really think I’m so stupid that I can’t remember to give you a twist of lemon?”

“No, Mike.”

“Then why do you do it, Mr. Dolan?”

After a few moments of silence, Jack answered, “I don’t know, Mike.”

That was the last time Mike ever saw him.

 

One Response to “My First Flash”

  1. Janice Ellsworth March 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    sad! but clearly the evil cousin of lift your right arm.

Leave a Reply

