Walking in Circles

10 Jan

[This piece was written concurrently with “Bagatelles,” and originally started as a bagatelle, but the flavor ended up being out of character, so instead it ended up in my early chapbook, Snacks.]

We were walking in circles, she and I, we were walking in circles.  How long can this go on, I heard a little voice say.

We were walking in circles.  I was walking in circles, she was walking in smaller circles.  We were walking in concentric circles.  How long can this go on, I heard a little voice say.

We were walking in circles, she and I, we were walking in concentric circles.  I was walking clockwise, she was walking counterclockwise.  How long can this go on, I heard a little voice say, how long can this go on.

She was screaming. She was screaming in circles.  I started screaming in larger circles.  We were screaming in concentric circles.  How long can this go on, I heard a little voice say.  I was screaming clockwise, she was screaming counterclockwise.  I heard a little voice say, how long can this go on.

A little voice was screaming in circles, another little voice was screaming in smaller circles, two little voices were screaming in concentric circles.  One was screaming clockwise, the other was screaming counterclockwise.  How long can this go on, I heard a little voice say, how long can this go on.

It can go on forever, the other little voice screamed back.

One Response to “Walking in Circles”

  1. nonnieaugustine January 14, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    I’m so glad I read this, Peter. You spoke for me in this piece.

Leave a Reply

