A Christmas Bagatelle

25 Dec

We exchanged Christmas gifts.

Open yours first, I said.

All right, she said, and opened it.  Inside the box were the three things I had bought her: an alpaca scarf from Peru, an embroidered purse from Thailand, and silver earrings from India.  I love them all, she said.  Now it’s your turn to open your gift.

All right, I said.  I removed the gift wrap and was left with a plain white box, an enormous white box.  What could be inside a box of this magnitude, I wondered.  I opened it.  It was empty.

I held up the box and pointed the open end toward her.  What’s this for, I asked her, miffed.

She smiled and said, anything you want.

Leave a Reply

